Octabuild, established in 1984 is unique among representative groups in the building and construction industry.

The objective of the group is to promote the benefits of high quality, Irish manufactured products.  Each Octabuild company is committed to providing an efficient and reliable service to builders merchants.

While the Octabuild companies (Evode Ltd., Gyproc, ICI Dulux Ltd., Irish Cement Ltd., Sanbra Fyffe Ltd., Tegral Ltd., Kingspan Insulation and Wavin Ireland Ltd.) all conduct their business independently of each other, they share a number of important attributes.

They all:

  • have a solid manufacturing base in Ireland
  • operate to the highest technical and management quality standards
  • are market leaders in their business sectors
  • use builders merchants and their primary sales route to the end-user


Between them the Octabuild companies make a significant contribution to the Irish building and construction industry.  Their manufacturing plants are spread throughout the country providing significant employment (1,400+ employed directly) and contributing substantially to the economic well being of their local communities. Their combined product portfolio represents an impressive range of high quality Irish manufactured brands.  The companies between them make 20,000+ quality products available every day.

Octabuild Members

Gyproc www.gypsum.ie
Glennon Brothers www.glennonbrothers.ie
ICI Dulux Ltd. www.dulux.ie
Irish Cement Ltd. www.irishcement.ie
Sanbra Fyffe Ltd. www.sanbrafyffe.ie
Tegral Ltd. www.tegral.ie
Wavin Ireland Ltd. www.wavin.ie
Kingspan Insulation www.insulation.kingspan.com

Octabuild Builders Merchant of the Year Awards

ocatbuild awards

The 2011 Octabuild Builders Merchant Awards took place on Thursday 24th February 2011 in The Round Room at The Mansion House, Dublin.   

The Recipients of the 2011 awards were:


Octabuild Builders Merchant of the Year 2011: John O’Dwyer Builders Providers, Kilrush

Tom O’ Callaghan, Chairman Octabuild; Sean Gallagher; Bernard O’ Dwyer and Pauline Cahill with Brendan Maher, President IHBMA

Regional Awards:

Munster: John O’Dwyer Builders Providers, Kilrush
Leinster: Telfords Portlaoise
Connaught/Ulster: Maurice Graham Ltd

Special Awards:

Lifetime Achievement: Michael O’Higgins
Best Family Business:  J.P. Brady Hardware, Cavan
Best for Heavy Goods: Cork Builders Providers Ltd
Best Marketing: Grange Builders Providers Homevalue Hardware
Best Support for Irish Products: Telfords Portlaoise Ltd
Most Improved Business: Stakelums Hardware Ltd
Best Large Business:  Heiton Buckley Ltd, Robinhood Road
Best Small Medium Enterprise (SME):  Nicholas Ó Conchubhair Teo, Homevalue Hardware

County Awards:

Carlow: Heiton Buckley, Carlow
Cavan: Homemakers
Clare: John O Dwyer Builders Providers, Kilrush
Cork: Burton’s Hardware, Kanturk
Donegal: The Cope Builders Providers
Dublin: Heiton Buckley, Robinhood Road
Galway: McDonogh Trade Centre Ltd
Kerry: Heiton Buckley, Tralee
Kildare: McCarthy’s Homevalue Hardware
Kilkenny: Chadwicks Kilkenny
Laois: Telfords Portlaoise Ltd
Limerick: James McMahon
Longford: Ganly’s
Louth: Eddies Hardware, Heiton Buckley Ltd
Mayo: Archers Ballina
Meath: Chadwicks Navan
Monaghan: Maurice Graham Ltd
Offaly: Tullamore Hardware, A Heiton Buckley Company
Roscommon: Ganley’s
Sligo: Brooks Hanley
Tipperary: Stakelums Hardware Ltd
Waterford: Heiton Buckley, Cork Road
Westmeath: Topline Mullingar Hardware
Wexford: c + D Home and Hardware
Wicklow: Arklow Home and Hardware


From Sanbra Fyffe (L-R) Aidan Murphy, Gavin Kelly, Noel Conroy, Sean Gallagher (Guest Speaker), Brian Murphy, Martin Murphy, Padraig Corcoran.

walsh pr